Jump over the site's section navigation.

Peoria's Kickapoo Building Placed On National Historic Register

Fri, 14 Feb 2014 14:24:14 CST
By: AP

A flatiron building in downtown Peoria has been added to the National Register of Historic Place. The State Historic Preservation Agency says the Kickapoo Building constructed in 1911 is among 23 Illinois buildings and 11 historic districts put on the list.

Here is a list, by county:
Bureau County: Sheffield Village Hall. Classical Revival style with Romanesque Revival influences.

Clark County: Marshall Business Historic District. Developed amid westward expansion of the U.S. due to location along National Road.

Cook County:
Apartment building, 320 West Oakdale Avenue, Chicago, built 1954. Mid-century Modern.
42nd Precinct Police Station, Chicago. Classical Revival, influenced by 1893 World's Columbian Exposition.
Bush Temple of Music, Chicago, completed in 1902. Rare Chicago example of large commercial building in French Renaissance Revival ``Chateauesque'' style.
Curtiss-Wright Aeronautical University Building, Chicago. Midwest's first accredited flight school with black students and instructors.
Drucker House, Wilmette. Mid-century Modern.
Kosciuszko Park Field House, Chicago, built in 1914. Tudor Revival architecture.
The Neuville apartments, Chicago. One of first luxury high-rise apartment buildings on city's near-north side.
Passionist Fathers Monastery, Chicago, built in 1910. Classical, Baroque and Romanesque detailing.
Polish Roman Catholic Union of America building, Chicago. Significant association with Chicago's immigration settlements.
Stony Island Trust & Savings Bank Building, Chicago, built in 1923. Became center of Chicago South Shore economic life.
Storkline Furniture Corp. factory, Chicago, built in 1925 with later additions.
Strand Hotel, Chicago, built in 1915. Last example of residential hotel in Woodlawn neighborhood.
Vesta Accumulator Company Building, Chicago. Part of automobile industry along city's early Motor Row.
Walser House, Chicago, designed in 1903 by Frank Lloyd Wright. Prairie School architecture.
West Argyle Street Historic District, Chicago. District boundary increased.
West Loop-LaSalle Street Historic District, Chicago. Represents Chicago's downtown commercial, office and governmental development.

DuPage County: Glen Ellyn North Historic District and Glen Ellyn South Historic District.

Jo Daviess County: Galena Historic District, boundary expansion.

Kane County: Pure Oil Station, Geneva. Tudor Revival style.

Lake County: Waukegan Carnegie Library, built in 1911. Classical Revival Style.

LaSalle County: Ottawa East Side Historic District. Greek Revival, Italianate, Queen Anne, Prairie, Craftsman and Revival-style houses.

Madison County: Salem Baptist Church, Alton, built in 1912 for African-American congregation organized in 1819.

McDonough County: Macomb Courthouse Square Historic District. Example of a Harrisonburg Square, a courthouse square with six access roads.

Peoria County: Kickapoo Building, Peoria, built in 1911. Example of flatiron building.

Pike County: Zoe Theater, Pittsfield. Art Moderne style with Modernist influences.

St. Clair County: Broadview Hotel, East St. Louis, built in 1927 as city was recovering from 1917 race riot. Classical Revival style.

Will County:
Beecher Mausoleum, built in 1914. Classical Revival Style.
Plainfield Historic District. Part of historic Lincoln Highway.

Support Your Public Radio Station