Jump over the site's section navigation.

Every IL county now drought disaster area

Wed, 15 Aug 2012 15:05:49 CDT

All counties in Illinois have been designated as "primary disaster areas" due to drought. That's after the U. S. Department of Agriculture added counties in northern Illinois to the list today. USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack says the designations came at the request of Governor Pat Quinn, and also because of a national drought monitor that shows lack of rain plaguing the entire state. All counties have been affected by drought for at least the past 8 weeks. The designations mean all Illinois farmers are eligible for emergency loans from the feds.

"Our farmers and ranchers around the country are a resilient bunch. While it's a good deal of stress, they're not daunted or overwhelmed by this challenge. They're going to get through it with the help of their friends and neighbors and the help of USDA and other federal agencies."

Vilsack is calling on the House of Representatives to finish work on the "Food Farm and Jobs bill" to help plan for the coming year. For now he says, the federal government has exhausted virtually all immediate tools in drought assistance.

Support Your Public Radio Station