Jump over the site's section navigation.

Nearly all of Illinois drought disaster area

Wed, 01 Aug 2012 15:31:01 CDT
By: AP

98 of Illinois' 102 counties now are classified by the federal government as natural disaster areas because of the drought. The U.S. Agriculture Department has added 218 counties in a dozen states as disaster areas. That brings this year's total to 1,584 in 32 states, more than 90% of them because of the drought. The latest additions make drought-affected farmers and ranchers eligible for federal aid including emergency loans. The USDA also announced ranchers may access some 3.8 million acres of conservation land for haying and grazing, and crop insurance companies have agreed to provide farmers a penalty-free grace period on insurance premiums in 2012.

Support Your Public Radio Station